Prospero's Isle

Chamber Music by James Francis Brown

Prospero's Isle (GMCD 7354)

James Francis Brown


This selection of James Francis Brown's exicting, visionary and emotionally rewarding chamber music is captured for the first time on this recording. This is a tour de force of contemporary virtuosity and lyrical intensity.

The four works on this CD demonstrate beyond question the vital role tonal music has to play in today's culture and reflect the composer's close association with some of the most talented and celebrated international artists - many of whom gave the world premieres of these works.

Available from the Label (click HERE)



"a composer of the utmost integrity, totally in command of the medium, with a voice of his own and an aural imagination to match."


- William Hedley. Music Web International

 "marries such daunting technical skill and virtuosic demands with so much ease and life-affirming joy"


- Mark Lehmann. American Record Guide (Jan / Feb 2012)

"a composer of exciting, visionary and emotionally rewarding music"


- New Classics Co. 8th March 2011



Track Listing


1. Piano Quartet                       17:03

Violin Sonata


2.  I. Quasi improvvisazione     8:04

3.  II. Presto                                  4:41

4.  III. Allegro                              7:28

5. Prospero's Isle                       14:32

String Trio

6.  I. Allegro                                 7:56

7.  II. Variations

8.          i. Animato                       2:20

9.          ii. Allegretto                    1:41

10.        iii. Andante                     4:55

11.        iv. Allegro con spirito    2:55

12.        v. Moderato                     1:59

13.        vi. Poco animato             0:54


 Featured Artists

 Jack Liebeck (violin)

 Katya Apekisheva (piano)

 Sarah-Jane Bradley (viola)

 Gemma Rosefield (cello)

 Tamas Amdras (violin)

 Nicola Eimer (piano)

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon